How Does Car Insurance Work in California?
All drivers in California are required by law to carry automobile insurance, but that doesn’t mean everyone understands how the process works. If you’ve never been in a car wreck, you probably don’t know the process of filing a claim after an accident. You could be asking yourself, “How does car insurance work in California?”
Below, some important information has been outlined to give you a better understanding of how car insurance works and how to file a claim following a collision in California.
Understanding Fault Laws in California
California is known as a fault state, which simply means that whoever causes an auto wreck is responsible for the injuries and damages that result. This means that their insurance company is expected to provide monetary compensation to the injured person.
For instance, if you’re in a crash and a distracted driver caused the crash, that person’s insurance provider is expected to provide you with monetary compensation.
Minimum Coverage Limits in CA
All states have minimum coverage limits that each driver must obtain when they purchase insurance. The insurance providers know the coverage minimums in each state, and they won’t let drivers purchase less than the minimum amount. These are the minimum coverage limits in California:
- $15,000 for injury or death to one person in a car crash
- $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person in a car crash
- $5,000 for property damage, not including the at-fault driver’s vehicle damage
Other parties that could be responsible for auto wrecks also carry insurance coverage to pay for crashes, such as government agencies, companies, and commercial drivers.
Can You Sue for a Car Crash?
You have the right to file a lawsuit or auto wreck claim against a negligent person whenever you weren’t responsible for the crash that injured you. You can receive a settlement to pay for the injuries and damages you experienced.
Reach Out to a Car Crash Lawyer in California
Now that you know a little more about how car insurance works in California, you should understand whether you’re able to file a claim against another driver or other negligent party. For help with your claim, or to learn more about car crash laws, contact Custodio & Dubey, LLP. Receive a free consultation with a lawyer by calling 213-593-9095 or filling in the form below.